Aggregate Testing Technician Level II


An Aggregate Testing Technician Level 2 is an individual who has demonstrated the knowledge and ability to properly perform, record, and report the results of advanced laboratory procedures for aggregates.


Certification Member: $405 Non Member: $460

For those individuals certifying for the first time or those who are recertifying. Fee includes ACI study guide, classroom review session, written and performance exams.  (Fee does not include training session.)

Written/Performance Exam Only Member: $205 Non Member: $260

For those individuals who failed their written or performance exam on their first testing attempt. Fee includes written or performance exam. (no study guide)



Friday 7:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Written/Performance Exams

*Times and days are subject to change without notice.
There is absolutely no photography, audio or video recording allowed at the training, review, or testing sessions.


Individuals requesting special accommodations enabling them to participate in ACI certification examinations must submit a letter from their primary physician to the Las Vegas Chapter ACI describing the physical challenge and providing a proposed solution (i.e. more time, a reader for the questions, physical assistance, etc.).  The Las Vegas Chapter ACI will forward the request and physician’s letter to ACI for direction.  Since the notification and formulation of appropriate accommodations takes time, candidates must make their request and submit the physician letter to the Las Vegas Chapter ACI at least three weeks prior to a certification examination session to formulate appropriate accommodations, arrange for their availability at the session, and accept the registration.


Participant can cancel registration by emailing a request to [email protected] five (5) business days prior to a certification training/testing/seminar/or chapter event to receive a refund of the registration fee less a $125.00 cancellation fee. Substitutions may be made at any time prior to the event by emailing [email protected]


This program requires demonstration of the knowledge and hands-on skills covered on the Job Task Analysis (JTA):

JTA for ACI Aggregate Testing Technician—Level 2

The program requires a working knowledge of the following AASHTO and/or ASTM standards:

  • T96–02/C131/C131M*—Resistance to Degradation of Small-Size Coarse Aggregate by Abrasion and Impact in the Los Angeles Machine

  • C535—Resistance to Degradation of Large-Size Coarse Aggregate by Abrasion and Impact in the Los Angeles Machine

  • T112–00 / C142–97—Clay Lumps and Friable Particles in Aggregate

  • D4791—Flat Particles, Elongated Particles, or Flat and Elongated Particles in Coarse Aggregate

  • T19M/T19/C29/C29M—Bulk Density (Unit Weight) and Voids in Aggregate

  • T104–99/C88*—Soundness of Aggregates by Use of Sodium Sulfate or Magnesium Sulfate

  • T113/C123—Lightweight Pieces in Aggregate

  • T176/ D2419—Plastic Fines in Graded Aggregates and Soils by Use of the Sand Equivalent Test

  • T304–11/ C1252Uncompacted Void Content of Fine Aggregate

  • D5821Determining the Percentage of Fractured Particles in Coarse Aggregate


ACI will grant certification only to those applicants who meet the following requirements:

  1. Hold current certification as an ACI Aggregate Testing Technician—Level 1, and

  2. Obtain a passing grade on the ACI written examination,

  3. and successfully complete the ACI performance examination.

The two-hour written examination is open-book and consists of approximately 100 multiple-choice questions. There are eight to 12 questions on each of the standards.

To pass the written examination, both of the following conditions must be met:

  1. At least 60% correct for each of the required standards, and

  2. A minimum score of 70% overall.

The performance examination is closed-book and requires actual demonstration of the required standards. The examinee is judged on his/her ability to correctly perform or describe all the required procedures for each standard.

Recertification is necessary every five years and requires successful completion of both the written and performance examinations.